Building an excellent lesson (Part Two)

Yesterday I wrote about an activity we had used in our department CPD session to consider the component parts of an excellent lesson – you can read about it here.

The outcome was this graphic which shows the things that we, as a department, currently feel are effective ways to ensure that learning happens in a lesson as well as whether we feel these things are actually done.

img_1708

Department view of effective practice

At the end of the session someone asked if my own version of this would look very different so I thought I would give it a go.

This is what I came up with for my own teaching.

ENS Components

My own views on effective teaching practice. 

I think there are more things that I am happy to say I just don’t find effective but a few that I still occasionally do. I also seem to be more likely to do the things that I feel are effective. I am less keen on written feedback and peer assessment than the department and favour verbal and whole-class feedback instead. A similarity is that there is nothing that the department found ineffective that I find effective.

Another difference I have just notice is that “Quizzes” has vanished – that would be quite a striking difference. I would put them as highly effective and increasingly frequent.

A useful strategy for thinking about your own teaching practice and how individual ideas might vary with in a team. The others are going to complete their own versions and to share.

2 thoughts on “Building an excellent lesson (Part Two)

  1. It would be interesting to do this anonymously as well because I can well imagine from my experience of CPD sessions that some don’t feel confident to say that they think certain things are ineffective. It’s a personality thing but worth bearing in mind for some people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

